A train journey to Ranebennur

This December has been a tough month. Lots of travelling and I got to visit places I didn’t think I would visit. One such place was Ranebennur. I had been there about twenty years ago and the only thing I remembered about the place were pigs. Yes Pigs!

I was travelling to attend a friend’s wedding this time. As it normally happens with me, we travel in small group of 7-8 friends. From my experiences, I feel it is good to travel in a group rather than travel alone. I normally travel by bus but this time against our friend’s advice we took a train (Mysore – Ajmer express) to Ranebennur. The train started at 9:40 PM and as usual we had our regular fight for upper and lower berths and I was lucky enough to get Upper berth this time. I don’t know why we fight for upper and lower berths! Since every one does it I don’t want to be left out. As with most Indian trains, the fan wasn’t working with no windows for the Upper berths it was pretty warm and I as much as dug my own grave!

Lower, Upper and Middle Berths

Lower, Upper and Middle Berths

The train was supposed to reach Ranebennur at 4 AM that meant we had to wake up early. Problem with getting out of train that early in the morning, is that there is nobody else whom you could ask about the stop. So it was decided that one of us would keep an alarm. With nobody volunteering I wasn’t sure who would set the alarm in their phone. Most of us fell asleep as soon as we settled into our berth. As tired as I was, I dozed off thinking if I didn’t wake at Ranebennur railway station I would get down at any place the train stop by 7 AM and take the first train back to Bangalore.

I slept for couple of hours (For some reason I don’t sleep well while travelling). Then at 3:30 AM a mobile started ringing. Initially I ignored it thinking it was somebody else’s mobile. But after a while my friends in middle, lower and upper berth started staring at me and I thought may be it was my phone which was ringing! By the time I could take my phone out, the ringing stopped. I put my phone into silent mode and people went back to sleep. Cursing me most probably!

Few minutes later it started again, this time I check my phone on time and my mobile did not display anything. My phone wasn’t responsible for the alarm. But there were people staring at me (Half of passengers surrounding me were actually staring at me.)! Under peer pressure without thinking I took out the battery my phone and yet the alarm continued to blare. There was a bust of laughter from the surrounding berths.

Sound propagation on a moving train is something that needs to investigated. It turned out that one of my friend had kept an alarm for 3:30 AM (I agree it was an unearthly hour!) and slept blissfully through the ringing sound of the alarm while half of our bogie had woken up!

Unfortunately the train reached Ranebennur at 4 AM. So we didn’t get to sleep much. The trip was well worth it! Thanks to my friend Charan we were able to get some snaps of the pigs too!

Click on the images to enlarge them.

Ranebennur at 4 AM

Ranebennur at 4 AM

We all wanted to ride this auto! It looks different from those in Bangalore.

We all wanted to ride this auto! It looks different from those in Bangalore.

Renuka Lodge

Renuka Lodge

Wedding Hall

Wedding Hall

Lord Ganesha

Lord Ganesha

07122012430

Pigs are common sight in Ranebennur

Pigs are common sight in Ranebennur. There is a perfect harmony between pigs and dogs here.

Concrete roads reminds me of Mangalore.

Concrete roads reminds me of Mangalore.

I saw more pigs than dogs in Ranebennur.

I saw more pigs than dogs in Ranebennur.

I just love these.

I just love these.

2 thoughts on “A train journey to Ranebennur

  1. I have read some excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you put to make such a magnificent informative
    website.

Leave a Reply

