Ubuntu: Super Cow Powers

When I first thought of using Ubuntu I was warned by some of my friends that it would not be a pleasant experience but I decided to take the plunge. Now after few months of using Ubuntu. I can assure you there weren’t many hassles. On the contrary I found out that Ubuntu has a good sense of humor too. To illustrate it, consider the two commands

apt-get
aptitude

They are used for installing and uninstalling software on Ubunu. I was curious to find out the difference between these commands, Since they performed the same task.

First I typed “apt-get” and in the response I received the text “This APT has Super Cow Powers.” caught my eye.

Next I typed “aptitude“. It didn’t give the desired results. So I typed “aptitude -23“(You can type any wrong input) and this time I got another text “This aptitude does not have Super Cow Powers.“.

I dumped what I was looking for and decided to investigate the “Super Cow Powers” and I came across few Easter eggs in apt-get and aptitude. I have listed some of them down for you.

1. Type “apt-get moo

2. Type “aptitude moo

3. Type “aptitude -v moo

4. Type “aptitude -vv moo

5. Type “aptitude -vvv moo

6. Type “aptitude -vvvv moo

7. Type “aptitude -vvvvv moo

8. Type “aptitude -vvvvvv moo

If you want information on difference between apt-get and aptitude visit aptitude versus apt-get. I didn’t discover all the above Easter eggs on my own. I found it in the thread Super Cow Powers vs No Super Cow Powers. Lastly I would like to thank Bharat Pawar was convincing me to find out more about “Super Cow Powers”.

13 thoughts on “Ubuntu: Super Cow Powers

  1. Let me show you another hilarious thing: Right click on Gnome panel (preferably the top panel that includes Applications, Places and System menus). Select Properties. A window will appear. It will contain two tabs. Point your cursor on any of the tab and right click thrice. See what comes up!

    Despite these easter eggs, I do like Ubuntu for professional work. It has a working environment. The only thing up until now it lacks is support for some software, including Adobe Photoshop and the likes. I do hope Adobe releases Linux-compatible software anytime soon so that we can stick to Ubuntu. I don’t like going back to windows again and again (until I can afford to buy a mac, you know 😀 ).

    • I will try it. Font rendering is best is Macintosh. I don’t expect to see Adobe Photoshop any time soon on Linux. Linux would have to gain enough market share to attract Adobe.

      • Mac is for rich people. 😦 But I agree, Mac does it best.

        I know Adobe is not entering the world of linux anytime soon (although Adobe Air is already on it). But Linux is gaining market share rapidly as you know more and more people are becoming regular user of linux, especially ubuntu. That’s where the hope comes from.

        • Macintosh is pretty expensive but compared to Windows OS it is much cheaper, If we consider the cost of software licensing. But I can’t completely disagree with you.For a normal user Ubuntu is the best option. It provides everything that Windows XP provides.

          Getting Adobe to make a release on Ubuntu won’t be very easy. There was a time when they wanted to pull out of Macintosh business, when Macintosh’s market share has plummeted. You can refer to this link on installing Adobe Photoshop on Ubuntu http://news.softpedia.com/news/Install-Photoshop-CS2-on-Your-Ubuntu-PC-77260.shtml

          • I don’t agree that Ubuntu provides everything XP provides. If you say that, people will misunderstand because XP provides support for the maximum number of softwares out there.

            When it comes to compatibility, there is an issue. But for a normal user, Ubuntu is a mac experience. Both are based on unix and their environment is just same you know.

            windows is cheaper, not mac.

          • Windows is not really cheaper. You have to pay for the IDE on Windows while it’s free on Macintosh. Then there is a need to have an anti-virus. In the end you might ending up paying more for Window than for a Mac.

            Ubuntu might not provide all the softwares available on Windows but there are always a close replacements.

  2. One thing I don’t like is Ubuntu’s font rendering. You see a specific site on Windows, it shows up the exact font written in its stylesheet. But in ubuntu, I don’t see the exact font even if I install ttf-mscore-fonts (Core fonts of Windows). This is not a big deal. Still I’d like to see Georgia font which site uses it. Ubuntu makes Georgia look like Times New Roman which decreases my will to read (I’m a big fan of beautiful typography).

Leave a Reply

