Silly Me

There is something special about Monday mornings. For starters I don’t really feel like working and secondly I hardly remember any work I had done the previous week. Break of two days clears my mind.

Monday mornings are a new beginning forgetting the failures of the previous week and starting up new. I don’t like to keep any work pending over the weekend. But there are times when this can’t be done. The ghosts of my previous week come back to haunt me. What I am writing now was one of those experiences.

It was another lazy Monday morning and as usual I was late to office, I met my manager who assigned me work for the entire week and I came back to my cubicle to start-up with the assigned work.

I have two machines in my cubicle one is a Dell machine running Linux OS and the other a Mac mini running Macintosh(Snow Leopard). I know it sounds stupid “a Mac mini running Macintosh” but trust me when I say I have seen people using Windows XP on Mac book Pro and also I am sorry Apple fan boys, I don’t use my Macintosh machine a lot! I am currently hooked on to Linux(Ubuntu). I usually start my day by checking my mail on my Linux machine. So first think I did was to check my official mail and then I tried to open Gmail page and I got the following error.

 

A shocker

 

I saw the error code “sec_error_expired_certificate” which mean that the certificate has expired. This actually makes sense but I know you would agree with me when I say, it is very hard to believe that Google hasn’t renewed their certificate. Then I happen to read the description “The certificate will not be valid till until Friday 18 December 2009 05:30 AM”. Holy cow! that day was 23 August 2010! Add to that the error message and the error code were contradictory to each other. I have seen Windows XP display such contradictory messages but never expected Firefox to follow Microsoft’s lead.

Since I had worked a bit on internet security related stuff, the first thing I did was to check the certificate.

 

Tried to make some sense of the certificate

 

Firstly I have a confession to make, the private and the public keys don’t really make any sense to me! The only thing that made sense was the date which seemed alright. So my conclusion was that, there was no problem with the certificate and this entire issue had something to do with my system. Although I love using Linux I don’t trust the OS completely. After all it’s a software and all software’s have bugs!

And since I couldn’t think of anything, I switched on my mac mini and connected to the Gmail page using Firefox. The page loaded without any issues.

I stared at my monitor with my mouth open and it was at this moment I felt like being hit by a lightning. I checked my Linux machine and did a change and Gmail was up and running on my Linux machine.

Okay, now it’s time to unlock the mystery. The lightning was actually the moment I remembered that I had changed the time and date settings of my Linux machine last week for a silly reason.

The reason

My silly reason : I wanted to fake the modified time of a file, so that I could fool my colleague(I am not telling who it is.). As they say “I was impaled by my own sword”.

3 thoughts on “Silly Me

Leave a Reply

