Google Pac-Man

I have spent most of yesterday and today playing Pac-Man on my system. No I didn’t install it on my machine, I played it on my web-browser. All thanks to Google. Pac-Man is an arcade game developed by Namco and licensed for distribution in the United States by Midway, first released in Japan on May 22, 1980. To celebrate Pac-Man’s 30th birthday Google put it up on its search page.

Google Pac-man

This playable version of the classic video game was put on Google’s front page on 21 May. Google reworked the game so the layout was arranged around letters forming its name. The Pac-Man game proved so popular that Google has now made it permanently available on its own page.

You can visit the page here.

Full screen

Another interesting change is that “I’m Feeling Lucky” button is replaced by “Insert Coin” button. According to one of the pages of BBC web-site, it has had a major impact on working behaviours of the employees. Read this for more info.

Pac-man was one of the first games I had played on a computer. It was about 15 years back. And playing the game again made me nostalgic and I started thinking about the good time I had playing this game on a computer with black and white monitor. If I remember correctly this game used to fit in a Floppy disk. Well Floppy disk have become extinct, but the game has survived like few other games of that time like Prince of Persia. I would like to thank Google for provided me this moment.

Enjoy this link for as long as possible, I won’t be surprised if they IT Managers block this site. “Make hay while the sun shines”. By the way as of now I hold the record for highest score in and around my cubicle. My score is just 7770!!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Google Pac-Man

Leave a Reply

