Mac like dock on linux

It came as surprise to me when I saw one of my colleague (Bharat Pawar), who sits next to me, showed me dock on his Linux machine. I was showing off the dock on my Snow Leopard couple of days back (I know Kareem will be grinning ). So it was his reply to the dock in Snow Leopard.

On little investigation, I realized that it was an application which created a dock on Linux. The application is called Avant Window Navigator or in short “AWN”.

I will list down the steps in installing this application.

1. Go to System -> Preferences -> Appearance
2. A dialog will be shown, in that select Visual Effects tab and in that tab select extra option or normal option. (Extra options supports effects similar to those seen in Macintosh in fact in few places it’s even better)

The Tab and the option to select


The first two steps can be avoided if it’s already set.

3. Go to System -> Administration -> Software sources
4. Click the Updates tab and select Pre-released updates and Unsupported updates

Options to be selected

5. Go to terminal and type sudo apt-get install avant-window-navigator awn-manager

Launching the dock
Go to Applications ->Accessories -> Avant Window Navigator. Your dock is ready.

My Dock

If the visual effects is not set to extra or normal, the dock wont show up. You can right click on the dock to set up the preferences.

Preference Dialog

Adding applications to dock is very easy and similar to Macintosh. Just drag and drop the applications to the dock. You can uncheck the options selected in Step 4. I have learned by lessons and am not going to play around with Linux System settings.

I read this article to set up the Linux Dock. There are lots of cool stuff available on Linux please go through the following article.

10 thoughts on “Mac like dock on linux

  1. bro .. hey .. this is mahesh .. man .. this is a vry old concept brought out by ubuntu ppl .. there are newer docks and better looking ones available for ubuntu …. i could not try them on my own because i have a very slow laptop in hand with me .. shall keep you informed about it …

    and im planning to buy a macbook with snow leopard installed .. whas ur suggestion about it ???

    • How can I forget you? I know the concept is pretty old, but most of my readers are either new to linux or haven’t used it at all. So I try to post stuff like this to encourage them to make the switch. Unfortunately my work requires me to use Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope) with java 1.5, so that rules out trying anything new.

      Purchasing Macbook is a good idea, I would suggest MacBook Pro, since it’s available in 13-, 15-, and 17-inch models. MacBook Air has display of 13.3-inch, which I believe is too small. But it’s easier to carry MacBook Air around.

      This link might help

  2. Mahesh,
    If u r gonna use Snow Leopard talk to Dheeru also once. He changed the name Snow Leopard to Slow Leopard.

    • Any specific reason why he changed it to slow leopard? Because if it’s Juicer 3, don’t blame the OS blame Juicer 3. I haven’t had any issues with snow leopard but TBH I prefer working on Leopard.

      P.S. : I am quoting Mahesh here “new Dell Studio 15” with i3 core and 1 GB grafix rox and also a 15.6 inch screen making the most amazing gaming experience .. this is what a laptop should be like .. th eonly drawback that i can see is the windows 7 basic version .. would have been happy if it was a professional or ultimate .. anyways as for now .. .. IM LOVIN IT “

  3. Pingback: Валентин

    • Я благодарю вас за ваши комментарии
      Я не знаю русского языка, если Есть ошибки в переводе пожалуйста, прости меня

  4. Sorry for my bad english. Thank you so much for your good post. Your post helped me in my college assignment, If you can provide me more details please email me.

  5. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  6. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

Leave a Reply

